2023 Poll: Tinubu Is The Winner, INEC Declares

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Bola Tinubu of the All Progressive Congress (APC) the winner of Nigeria’s 2023 presidential election. 

Tinubu polled a total of 8,794,726 votes to defeat his closest rival, Atiku Abubakar of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 6,984,520 to emerge second. While Peter Obi of Labour Party scored 6, 101, 533 votes.

Nearly 90 million people were eligible to vote in Africa’s largest democracy, with many Nigerians hoping a new leader will do a better job tackling insecurity, economic malaise and growing poverty.

Elections were held nationwide on February 25. Voting had to be extended into Sunday in a few parts of the country after some glitches.

Additional Reports By Al Jazeera