Lagos Lawmakers Reject Sanwoolu’s 17 Commissioner Nominees, Clear 22

The Lagos State House of Assembly, Wednesday, rejected 17 and cleared 22 Cabinet nominees sent by the State Governor, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu for screening. 

The governor had presented 39 nominees for screening.

Right Honourable Mudashiru Obasa, the Speaker of the House, who presided over the plenary, said the confirmation followed rigorous and detailed screening of the nominees by an Ad-hoc committee led by the Chief Whip of the House, Mr. Fatai Mojeed.

He commended the committee for its effectiveness and urged the confirmed nominees to always remember that they are in office to serve the people of the State and not individuals.

He also promised that the House would continue to do its best in the interest of the State.

The confirmation was done through a voice vote as Dr. Obasa mentioned the name of each of the nominees.

The 17 nominees rejected by the lawmakers are: Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo; Prof. Akin Abayomi; Mr. Yomi Oluyomi; Mrs. Folashade Ambrose; Ms. Barakat Bakare; Mr. Gbenga Omotosho

Engr. Olalere Odusote; Dr. Rotimi Fashola

Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada; Mr. Sam Egube;

Mr. Olalekan Fatodu and Mrs. Solape Hammond

Others are: Mr. Mosopefolu George; Engr. Aramide Adeyoye; Mr. Seun Osiyemi; Mr Rotimi Ogunwuyi and Dr. Olumide Oluyinka

While the 22 confirmed nominees were; Mr. Layode Ibrahim; Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende; Dr. Dolapo Fasawe; Bola Olumegbon; Idris Aregbe; Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya;  Moruf Akinderu Fatai

Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts; Engr. Abiola Olowu; Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka; Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih- Awokoya; Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu; Mr. Lawal Pedro (SAN) and Tunbosun Alake

Others were; Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde; Dr. Adekunle Olayinka; Dr. Jide Babatunde; Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo; Mr. Tokunbo Wahab; Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu; Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun and Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo.