Sat. Jun 3rd, 2023

Court Convicts 11 Port Harcourt Internet Fraudsters

Court Convicts 11 Port Harcourt Internet Fraudsters

Justice Adamu Turaki Mohammed of the Federal High Court sitting in Port Harcourt, Friday, Rivers State, has convict d and sentenced 11 internet fraudusters to various prison terms, for fraud.

The convicts were arraigned before the court by the Benin Zonal Office of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) for offences bordering on impersonation and fraud and obtaining by false pretence.

April 9, 2021 convicted and sentenced 

Those convicted by the court are: Anhwo Samson, Harry Omo-egbekun Hamilton, Odiase Martins, Okuson Godspower, Destiny Ighalo, Andrew Onoyoa, Omebu Happy, Enofe Michael, Adelakun Abdulkareem, Akpowowo Favour and Imaah Joseph.

They all pleaded guilty to one count charge each preferred against them by the Commission.

In view of their pleas, the prosecution counsel, Ahmed Arogha, urged the court to convict and sentence the defendants accordingly.

However, their Counsel, John Okhuihievbe and O.A. Egharevba, counsel, pleaded with the court to temper justice with mercy as the defendants were first time offenders who had become remorseful.

Justice Mohammed convicted and sentenced all the defendants to various terms of imprisonment, while Samson was given two years imprisonment or a fine of N200,000. 

He is also to forfeit N3,684,439.18 million to the federal government while Ighalo got two years imprisonment or a fine 500,000 and to forfeit a Lexus SUV 330 model, laptops and phones to the federal government. Andrew Onoyoa was sentenced to 3 years imprisonment or a fine of N1 million. He is also to forfeit Lexus 230 SUV and a Toyota Camry car to the federal government.

The other defendants Godspower, Happy, Enofe, Joseph, Favour, Abdulkareem and Martin were sentenced to two years imprisonment each with an option of fine of N200,000 each. Hamilton bagged two years imprisonment or a fine of N100,000.

All the convicts are to undertake in writing to be of good behaviour forthwith.

The charge against Samson reads: “that you Anhwo Samson (aka Anhwo Samcity), Adelakun Abdulkareem (aka Terry Walker), Omebu Happy (aka Christ David), Imaah Joseph (aka Pietro Jones) Enofe Michael (aka Charlotte Crypto B.T.C Dan Trader) and Akpowowo Favour Omanufogho (aka Prof. Melisa Dan) on or about the 10 day of July 2020 at Efemena Close, Ozoro within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court did conspired to defraud by sending electronic messages materially misrepresenting facts to white women with intent to defraud them and thereby committed an offence contrary to Section 27 (1)(b) of the Cybercrime (Prohibition, Prevention, Etc) Act, 2015 and punishable under Section 14(2) the same Act”.